Live from Toronto

It’s been a crazy whirlwind of a day for yours truly, but I’m here in Toronto at the NHL Awards Show. After some interviews with the three Caps award nominees and some time watching the red carpet parade go by, the show started with good news for the Caps. Alex Ovechkin has been named winner of the Lester B. Pearson Award as the league’s top player. The NHL players vote on the award, and Ovechkin was gracious upon reception of the trophy moments ago.

Pavel Datsyuk was just named winner of the Selke Trophy for the league’s top defensive forward. New Jersey’s John Madden was second and Datsyuk’s teammate Henrik Zetterberg was third. No members of the Caps finished among the top 20 in Selke balloting. Sixteen different players picked up at least one first-place vote for the Selke. 

The King Clancy Memorial Trophy goes to Vincent Lecavalier. More in a bit.

UPDATES: Toronto’s Jason Blake was named the winner of the 2008 Masterton Trophy. Datsyuk just added to his hardware collection; he’s the winner of the 2008 Lady Byng Trophy.

Here’s a bit of a news flash for you: it’s 7:41 and we’ve just been handed the final balloting for the Lady Byng Trophy. Ovechkin received eight first-place votes for the award and finished ninth overall in the balloting for the Byng. He was the only Cap to place among the top 20 in Lady Byng balloting.

It’s 7:48 and Bruce Boudreau has made it two of two for the Caps tonight. He’s the 2008 Jack Adams Award winner, joining BIll Barber as only the second coach ever to win the Adams after taking over in midseason. Boudreau garnered 31 first-place votes and edged out Montreal’s Guy Carbonneau by 208-196 in points. 

Those of us who have known Bruce for several years and have followed his career prior to this last amazing season are thrilled for him. It couldn’t happen to a better guy.


It’s 8:00 now, and we know that NIcklas Backstrom iis the runner-up for the Calder Trophy as the league’s top rookie. Backstrom got 30 first-place votes to Patrick Kane’s 71. Kane outpointed Backstrom 1,078-872.

Detroit’s Nicklas Lidstrom won his sixth Norris Trophy in the past seven seasons, and he crushed the opposition in the process. Lidstrom earned 127 first-place votes on the 134 ballots cast.

Caps goaltender Cristobal Huet finished eighth in Vezina balloting, picking up one second-place and one third-place vote.




Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

One Comment on “Live from Toronto”

  1. Mike L Says:

    Alex finished 9th in the Lady Byng voting… uh, which Alex Ovechkin were those voters watching. While I love the way he plays, he is no gentleman on the ice. He’s rough and tumble much like a power forward. If any Cap on the current roster is going to win the Lady Byng it would be Michael Nylander, or perhaps Nick Backstrom.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: