I’m Not Worthy

p1030110c.jpg

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

14 Comments on “I’m Not Worthy”

  1. Randy Says:

    Mike,
    I’m glad to see that you were able to bring your Dad to the game with you too! 😉

  2. Betsy Says:

    He’s still the personification of cool and professionalism.

  3. Dave Says:

    As Tommy Boy would say, “Awwwesommmmmme!”

  4. Marks4Java Says:

    Nice.
    When did you get this opportunity?
    Were you star-struck?
    Did you ask him any questions?

  5. Marks4Java Says:

    Dave, I prefer the awesome from Jiff in Bowfinger:
    [audio src="http://www.moviewavs.com/php/sounds/?id=bst&media=WAVS&type=Movies&movie=Bowfinger&quote=bowfinger24.txt&file=bowfinger24.wav" /]

  6. Mike L Says:

    What an amazing player he was… and an amazing person he is… 🙂

  7. dumpnchase Says:

    Marks,
    He was in the suite with the players’ dads in Florida. No, I wasn’t star-struck … probably should have been. Didn’t ask him anything, just talked about the old days in Boston a bit. He has a really amazing ability to make those around him feel like THEY’RE Bobby Orr.

  8. Marks4Java Says:

    Thanks for the background, Mike.
    This is the question I wrestle with when meeting or interacting with someone “famous”; do you drool over them and make them wish they were somewhere else, or do you act cool and nonchalant and risk them thinking “doesn’t this person know I’m …”?
    I’m more inclined to the cool and not star-struck myself.

  9. Callsho Says:

    Wow!!! Bobby Orr is my all time favorite player! I grew up near Boston and watched him play (in person on many occasions). I’m jealous.

  10. gusty161 Says:

    Forget Howe, Gretzky, Lemieux and all the other great hockey players the NHL has seen. The greatest of them all is Bobby Orr. I had the incredible luck of getting to see all of them live and noone could control the game the way Bobby could.

  11. dumpnchase Says:

    Calisho,
    My all-time favorite, too. He changed the game, period. Best player ever, IMO. I lived in North Quincy, Mass. for a few years when I was a kid and when the Bruins were winning Cups and Orr was ruling the Earth. That’s when I caught the bug. I lived in Chicago when he played there at the end a few years later and it was one of the saddest things I’ve ever seen. What’s amazing is he first hurt his knee as a rookie. We may never have seen him at his peak.

    Gusty,
    What you said. Just an amazing athlete, an amazing player. Some of the things he used to do routinely (like ragging the puck for 30 or more seconds on the PK) you rarely saw before and have rarely seen since.

    By the way, he turns 60 a month from today. He looks great.

  12. Hockey Amor Says:

    Hey Mike,

    Do you think Green has any chance of reminding anyone of Orr?

  13. dumpnchase Says:

    Hockey Amor,
    With all due respect, I don’t know if there is a defenseman alive today that has any chance of reminding anyone of Orr.

  14. NatsCaps19 Says:

    Mike- great to see you got to meet the man.. he was there because he’s one of the Caps agent, correct (Green?)


Leave a Reply

