They Said It

As I was telling someone yesterday, Glen Hanlon holds court for us local media folk for 10-15 minutes daily. (On game days during the season, he holds THREE press conferences. That’s 246 right there.) He patiently answers all questions, even the stupid ones that none of us are immune to asking, the ones that would make John Tortorella spontaneously combust as if he were a Spinal Tap drummer. But the only Hanlon quotes that end up getting “used” are the ones that are related to whichever story the respective reporters are working on in a given day. That leaves a helluva lot for the cutting room floor.

There are a couple reasons for this. First, newspapers have limited space. Second, reporters have limited time. We are rarely able to transcribe an entire 10-15 minute sound bite.

It’s a little different for me. I rarely have the time to transcribe an entire bite, but space is not a problem. I can write at will and often do in my pieces on caps.com, even though it irritates my boss and he constantly gives me grief about it. With all this in mind, I’ve decided to use this venue for some of the overflow. When I hear a quote — from Hanlon or anyone else — that seems interesting, funny, substantive, insightful or whatever, I’ll try to pass it along here. As I noted in this space the other day, I know you’d rather read what they said than what I wrote.

I’ll keep a little vault of stuff for this purpose, mostly from Hanlon since he’s the guy I talk to the most and get the most from, volume-wise. But we’ll mix it up and keep it interesting if we can.

With the long-winded intro out of the way, let’s get going. Hanlon was asked the other day whether he ever takes himself out of his coaching role to offer players guidance that they’re not getting elsewhere. Here’s how he responded:

“We’ve got a situation for us that I think has been a huge part of their mental development because we’ve been in such a tough situation for two and a half years of uncertainty in personnel and losing. A lot of it is getting players through hard times and teaching them that it is going to make them stronger. I don’t bring a guy like Michael Nylander in and try to help him with confidence or anything, but the younger kids we do a lot. It’s all part of their development. It’s all part of their learning curve. It’s not to the extent where your junior coaches or maybe even American League coaches where you’re helping a guy get an apartment. They get here, they have to go from being a boy to a man in a hurry. Lots of times the more mature ones, that’s why they get a jump up on people the first couple of years, because they can handle the outside things that go with playing in the NHL.”

A follow-up wondered whether Hanlon relied on Chris Clark to help out in this area:

“I rely on him for everything. All my captains we’ve had are pretty good and they really lend themselves to helping the younger kids. And we have Olie here. It’s pretty good. As long as I’ve been involved in the game, most of those things are taken care of by the older guys and the cycle sort of continues. Our league is very good at that, the older players looking after the younger players.”

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

6 Comments on “They Said It”

  1. CapsChick Says:

    This is excellent, Mike! Listening to Hanlon last week I found myself wishing I could see his full interviews (and those of the other guys, as well) more often because he’s a great, intelligent, quotable guy. Glad we’ll be able to see what gets “left on the cutting room floor”!

  2. Mike L Says:

    “He patiently answers all questions, even the stupid ones that none of us are immune to asking, the ones that would make John Tortorella spontaneously combust as if he were a Spinal Tap drummer.”

    Remind me not to read your blog while drinking a soda at my office desk… that made me laugh out loud and nearly spit Coke Zero all over the keyboard!

  3. CapsDreamer Says:

    Mike-

    I’m so glad you’re sharing these wonderful quotes that would ordinarily end up on the cutting room floor. Tell your boss we don’t mind if you write too much!

  4. Gustafsson Says:

    “I can write at will and often do in my pieces on caps.com, even though it irritates my boss and he constantly gives me grief about it.”

    When did the Caps hire a WaPo Sports Editor?

    😉

  5. Matt Says:

    I didn’t realize you had a boss – I guess everyone has one, but I chuckled when I read it.

  6. dumpnchase Says:

    CC,
    He is intelligent and he’s often quaotable, so we’ll see what we can do about getting some of thsoe quotes out there.

    Mike,
    I get off a good one every now and then.

    CD,
    Probably better if YOU tell my boss that. Seriously, it’s all good-natured when he ribs me about it.


Leave a Reply

